Justices of the Constitutional Court will welcome the Judges of the Constitutional Court of the Republic of Armenia


On 28 and 29 November, Justices of the Constitutional Court will meet with the Judges of the Constitutional Court of the Republic of Armenia (hereafter – Armenia) in the framework of bilateral cooperation. In four working sessions, the parties will discuss the recent judicature of the Courts, the independence of judges, issues related to the independence of judges, liability and immunity of public officials and will also focus on some aspects in the quality of legislation.

The delegation of the Armenian Constitutional Court will be headed by the President of the Court Hrayr Tovmasyan. Judges Alvina Gyulumyan, Arevik Petrosyan, Ashot Khachatryan, Araik Tunyan and Edgar Ghazaryan, the Court’s Head of Staff will be members of the delegation. Misak Balayan, the Third Secretary of the Embassy of Armenia in Lithuania, Latvia and Estonia will join the delegation.

The aim of the bilateral meeting is to strengthen the judicial dialogue between the European Union and third countries, to share experience and provide information on Latvia’s achievements in reinforcing the separation of powers and the rule of law in the state.

As reported previously, the Constitutional Court has had long and close cooperation with the Armenian Constitutional Court. This is proven also by the fact that, in 2017, the Armenian Constitutional Court gave an award to President of the Constitutional Court Ineta Ziemele for effective cooperation and significant contribution to the development of the Armenian Constitutional Court and constitutional law. Previously, such an award was granted to Gunārs Kūtris, the former President of the Constitutional Court.

The last bilateral meeting of the judges of the Constitutional Courts in Riga was held in June 2009, when the parties discussed current issues in constitutional legal proceedings, whereas the delegation of the Latvian Constitutional Court visited Yerevan in September of 2008.